The Spirit Awards, hosted by Film Independent and airing on IFC used to me one of my favorite awards shows. It was a place to discover new and unconventional films and a place for awarding creativity.

In recent years more and more mainstream films have been sweeping the circuit since the budget cap for eligibility is currently $20 million. Alas many of the films you’ve been hearing about at the other awards shows, like the Golden Globes and the Oscars, are up for nomination at the Spirit Awards.

We starred the ones we want to win and you can read what we thought of these films by clicking on the reviews. If the film is in bold after February 21 then it won for its category.

Spirit Award for Best Feature
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Love is Strange

Spirit Award for Best Male Lead
André 3000 – Jimi: All Is by My Side
Jake GyllenhaalNightcrawler
*Michael KeatonBirdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
John LithgowLove Is Strange
David OyelowoSelma

Spirit Award for Best Female Lead
Marion Cotillard – The Immigrant
Rinko Kikuchi – Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter
Julianne MooreStill Alice
Jenny SlateObvious Child
Tilda SwintonOnly Lovers Left Alive

Spirit Award for Best Supporting Male
Riz AhmenNightcrawler
Ethan Hawke – Boyhood
Alfred MolinaLove is Strange
Edward NortonBirdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
*J.K. SimmonsWhiplash

Spirit Award for Best Supporting Female
*Patricia ArquetteBoyhood
Jessica ChastainA Most Violent Year
Carmen EjogoSelma
Emma StoneBirdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Andrea Suarez Paz – Stand Clear of the Closing Doors

Spirit Award for Best Director
Damien ChazelleWhiplash
Ava DuvernaySelma
*Alejandro González IñárrituBirdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Richard LinklaterBoyhood
David Zellner – Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter

Spirit Award for Best Screenplay
Dan GilroyNightcrawler
J.C. ChandorA Most Violent Year
Scott Alexander and Larry KaraszewskiBig Eyes
Ira Sachs and Mauricio ZachariasLove is Strange
*Jim JarmuschOnly Lovers Left Alive

Spirit Award for Best Cinematography
Emmanuel LubezkiBirdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Darius Khondji – The Immigrant
Sean Porter – It Felt Like Love
Bradford YoungSelma
Lyle Vincent – A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night

Spirit Award for Best First Feature
A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Dear White People
Obvious Child
She’s Lost Control

Spirit Award for Best First Screenplay
*Justin Simien Dear White People
Anja Marquardt – She’s Lost Control
Justin Lader – The One I Love
Sara Colangelo – Little Accidents
Desiree Akhavan – Inappropriate Behavior

Spirit Award for Best Editing
Tom CrossWhiplash
Sandra AdairBoyhood
*John GilroyNightcrawler
Ron PataneA Most Violent Year
Adam WingardThe Guest

Spirit Award for Best International Film
Force Majeure (Sweden)
Ida (Poland)
Leviathan (Russia)
Mommy (Canada)
Norte, the End of History (Philippines)
Under the Skin (United Kingdom)

Spirit Award for Best Documentary
20,000 Days on Earth
Stray Dog
The Salt of the Earth

John Cassavetes Award
Blue Ruin
It Felt Like Love
Land Ho!
Man From Reno

Robert Altman Award
Inherent Vice – Paul Thomas Anderson

Special Distinction Award
Foxcatcher – Bennett Miller, Anthony Bregman, Megan Ellison, Jon Kilik, E. Max Frye, Dan Futterman, Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, Channing Tatum